top of page


MORRISTOWN, NJ, October 30, 2018 – The Women’s Association for Morristown Medical Center (WAMMC) is pleased to announce its 2018 Scholarship and Magnet Awards. WAMMC Scholarships are awarded each year to outstanding Morristown Medical Center employees to help further their continued education, development and leadership skills in the hospital and health care field. WAMMC Magnet Awards recognize individual nurses or teams that have met the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s criteria required to achieve Magnet Recognition®. Scholarship and Magnet Award applications are reviewed and evaluated by a committee composed of Nurse Managers and representatives of WAMMC.

WAMMC’s Scholarship Program dates back to 1957 and supports the staff at Morristown Medical Center by granting scholarships to hospital employees pursuing careers in the health care field. WAMMC Scholarship recipients are chosen based on applicants demonstrating extraordinary care and service to patients, their peers, colleagues and the community.

In 2018 WAMMC’s Scholarship Awards Committee awarded $50,000 in scholarships to a total of 25 employees, all pursuing graduate degrees. WAMMC awarded $26,000 in scholarships to 12 recipients in 2016 and $49,000 to 19 recipients in 2017. This steady growth of the financial support for this program can be attributed to the hard work of successful fundraising and the generous donations of WAMMC members.

Magnet Awards, which were established in 2017, are based on the Magnet Recognition® components of Transformational Leadership, Structural Empowerment, Exemplary Professional Practice and New Knowledge, Innovation and Improvements. This year, teams were recognized in each of these four categories.

“WAMMC’s Scholarship Award and Magnet Award Programs are a very important part of our ongoing fundraising efforts to support Morristown Medical Center’s goals to provide superior health services to our community,” said Mary Courtemanche, President, Women’s Association for Morristown Medical Center. “We are pleased and proud to continue providing support for those hospital employees who provide extraordinary patient care, are pursuing careers in the health care field, as well as those who are recognized for advancing nursing excellence.”

Eight of the 25 Scholarship Award Winners are pictured above. Left from bottom: Roxanne Sabatini, Corinne White, Christine Wendt, Kathryn Prinz.

Right from bottom: Marilyn Robayo, Sheryl Cicero, Ashley McKnight, Jacqueline Tierney

One of the five Magnet Award Winning teams is pictured above.

L to R: Joselyn Gonzalez, Tara Maryles, Sally Curtiss, Deborah Crater, Laura Nunez, Jacqueline Benson, Christina Mera, Roberta Robertozzi, Bonnie Keyes, Mildred Ortu Kowalski

2 views0 comments
bottom of page